Recently, while at the local watering hole (I work there), I found myself witnessing a family dispute. The dispute was between the owner and her cousin, who was drunk off his ass and seated on his motor cycle ready to drive home. He had already knocked the bike over once and she proceeded to scream in his face, an act he belligerently ignored.
I told the owner to call the cops. I mean, that’s what they’re there for, right? To enforce the law upon those too stupid and/or out of control to make the right decisions that are in the best interest of themselves and the public.
The owner basically told me to fuck off because it wasn’t my business and to go inside. She said that you can’t call the cops on family.
In my personal opinion, she has a history of making it my business and everyone else’s business for that matter. Her and her husband drink at their own bar. That’s the biggest no-no in owning a bar. She also serves her family at the bar. Also a huge mistake.
As for calling the cops on family, I believe that is the only thing left in the book that could help this forty-something year old man realize the consequences of his actions. If he had decided to just drive off after she screamed in his face and then he had gotten into an accident and died or killed a person, then it would be her fault because she was the one who allowed him to drink at her establishment despite the fact that he has a history of drinking too much and because she failed to alert the proper authorities on the matter who could hold him in a safe place until he could think clearly again.
At the very least, she should put him on probation in her bar. No alcohol served to him for a certain period of time.
Let me know what you think!!!
Signed,
Miffed@Midnight

